Our Committee for Survivors

The membership of the Committee for Survivors is comprised of the Operations Managers of MSA’s Member Organisations (MMO’s) plus our National Advocate and our Pouārahi Māori (see below). In accordance with the MSA Board Charter, the Committee will operate as a formal advisory committee to the MSA Board, which will appoint two Trustees to the Committee, one of whom will act as Chair.

Our National Advocate works with MSA Trustees to promote the wellbeing of male survivors by increasing public awareness of male survivor issues and advocating for and supporting male survivors seeking help and support. Our Pouārahi Māori works with our Rōpu Tautoko (Board advisory group) to implement MSA’s Kia Mārire strategy – a national strategy to increase the effectiveness of our services with and for Mäori male survivors.

Male survivors are welcome to provide input and advice to the Committee for Survivors by emailing the committee at cfs@malesurvivor.nz.

The mandate of the Committee for Survivors, which is detailed in their Terms of Reference (PDF), is essentially three-fold:

  • To act as the ‘consumer advocacy group’ – a role performed in accordance with our National Service Standards – to help assure the relevance and quality of the support services we provide for male survivors by providing feedback and advice on service policies and the service experience of survivors and their family/whanau and supporters;
  • To provide a collective ‘sounding board’ for the MSA Board of Trustees by providing survivor-informed advice on MSA and MMO advocacy, education, policies and practices; and
  • To enable and support the shared purpose and ambition of MSA and its MMO’s by acting collectively and individually as champions for the cause of the male survivor community in Aotearoa.
    The intention is that the Committee for Survivors will hold two national hui each year, the outcomes of which will be published on the MSA website.

Committee Members

Michael Holloway (Chair)

MSA Trustee, Male Support Services Waikato Trust

mobile +64 (0) 27 441 4749
email mssatw@xtra.co.nz

Bruce Montgomery

Male Survivors Bay of Plenty

phone 027 271 8898
email bruce@msbop.nz

Mike Subritzky

Managing Peer Worker, Male Survivors Taranaki

email mikes@mstaranaki.nz
phone (+64) 027 444 0109

Richard Brewer

Male Survivors Wellington

phone 021 118 1043
email support@theroadforward.org.nz

Louis Chapman

The Male Room, Nelson-Marlborough

phone 03 548 0403
email pchapman@ts.co.nz

Michael Chamberlain

Male Survivors Otago

phone (03) 425 8018
email info@mso.nz

Winton Ropiha

Te Hokai, Male Survivors Tairawhiti

phone: (+64) 027 412 5495
email: winton@mstairawhiti.nz

Paul Moffat

Male Support Services Kerikeri
Male Survivors Tai Tokerau

phone (+64) 021 378987
email paul@mstt.nz

Bert Henry

Male Survivors Muriwhenua
Male Survivors Tai Tokerau

phone (+64) 021 258 2066
email bert@mstt.nz

John Marsden

Male Survivors Canterbury

mobile: (+64) 021 712 283
email: john@canmen.org.nz

Stirling Halbert

Male Survivors Hawkes Bay

mobile: (+64) 022 052 5576
email: stirlingh@dovehb.org.nz

Poutoa Papalii

Better Blokes Inc.

mobile: (+64) 021 481 501
email: poutoa.papalii@betterblokes.org.nz

Warwick Pudney

Warwick Pudney

Better Blokes Auckland

phone (+64) 021 134 2133
email warwick.pudney@betterblokes.org.nz

Subscribe to our newsletter for up to date news and events.

We send out newsletters only occasionally and we fully respect that your information always remains private.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.